Wk 10 – Activity – Geocaching

This week our activity was geocaching. For those that don’t know geocaching is a game where you anonymously leave a small box with a logbook somewhere and post where it is on the geocaching website. Our assignment for the week was to create a geocache and to find a geocache. The one I found was in Sullivan’s Grove, a park near a friends house. Inside the container I found a crayon a few coins and magnet and a close pin. The box was on the inside of a canopy, resting on one of the support beams. I signed my name to the logbook and put the box back where I found it so others could find it as well. The cache I placed was closer to my house by a nearby school. I used an Altoids tin and inside I placed a logbook, a pencil, and an empty plastic box. After submitting it on the geocaching website, with in a few hours I received emails that people had found it. One of the comments read “it was a nice hide, and the coordinates were right on. Now I understand that the recent influx of caches in Long Beach is due to an art class. Enjoy the class, welcome to the hobby, and thank you for all the new caches.”. This was a nice surprise to see that people had found my cache and that they noticed there were a lot popping up in the area around CSULB. At the moment however the cache is not available to find. I place the box to close to a school and decided to remove it so nobody looking for the cache would end up at a school. This week’s activity was a lot of fun, not sure what it has to do with art, but I think this might actually become a hobby of mine.

My cache and what I put in it.
My cache and what I put in it.
A shot of my cache hidden behind a wall
A shot of my cache hidden behind a wall
The contents of the cache I found
The contents of the cache I found
Where I found a cache.
Where I found a cache.
Leave a Reply

