Wk 6 – Artist Interview – Dawn Derry & Anahid Malek-Stephanians

There were a limited number of exhibits to choose from this week, so I chose an exhibit showcasing paintings done by Dawn Derry and Anahid Malek-Stephanians. There exhibit, entitled Viewpoint, showcased various landscape paintings. I really like them and 3 stuck out to me in particular. The first one, a rock formation with a red background, looks like a beautiful sunrise on a mountain range. I found this painting mirrored the recent change to the fall season and how now I can see a similar image early in the morning when looking towards the mountains. The second piece shows a different rock formation with a blue background. I really like this because it reminds me of summer. The third painting that really stuck out to me was a painting of a winter landscape. Being somebody who loves the winter, especially winter sports, I was excited by this picture as I could see myself overlooking a similar view from the top of a ski slope. The reason for me giving my viewpoint of some of the paintings ties into the theme of the exhibit. Everybody sees things slightly different and a persons perspective can be altered by their past experiences. This was a goal of theirs, to show that a simple rock formation and a flat background can be interpreted many ways, it just depends on a persons viewpoint.
IMG_20151001_111715693

IMG_20151001_111709624

IMG_20151001_111704804

Leave a Reply

