Week 2 – Activity – Plaster Casting

The art project my friends and I completed this week was making a plaster cast of our hands. To accomplish this I a dug hole deep enough that my hand and wrist could be completely covered with sand. I then filled in the hole with my hand inside. I had my hand flat against one of the sides hoping to create a mold that could be high-fived. After covering my hand my friends poured water over the sand so it would create a mold in the shape of my hand. After the water sand mixture was compressed I carefully removed my hand, but the hole collapsed on itself. I had my arm at to much of an angle, the second time I kept my arm completely vertical. The second time the hole did not collapse. Now I had a hole in the sand in the shape of my hand, my friends and I mixed the plaster and poured it into the hole. I gave the plaster about thirty minutes to set before digging it out. After digging out the plaster mold I used a paint brush to remove excess sand from the mold. Removing all the sand proved to be very difficult since the sand surrounding the mold was still wet, the mold however came out fairly decent as I was able to give it a high-five. Overall the experience was enjoyable since I got to spend the day at the beach with some friends.

The final results, mine is the one in the center.
The final results, mine is the one in the center.
The waves nearly destroyed all our work.
The waves nearly destroyed all our work.
A series of trenches to prevent waves from washing away our molds.
A series of trenches to prevent waves from washing away our molds.
We used the lids as Frisbees as we waited for the plaster to harden.
We used the lids as Frisbees as we waited for the plaster to harden.
Leave a Reply

